COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS Monday, July 11, 2022 5:45 P.M.

The Honorable Columbus County Commissioners met on the above stated date and time at 127 West Webster Street, Whiteville, North Carolina 28472, for the purpose of conducting a Special Called Meeting.

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

Ricky Bullard, **Chairman**Jerome McMillian, **Vice Chairman**Giles E. Byrd
Lavern Coleman
Brent Watts

APPOINTEES PRESENT:

Eddie Madden, Jr., County Manager Amanda B. Prince, Staff Attorney Jay Leatherman, Finance Director Boyd Worley, Board Attorney LaToya Williams, Clerk to the Board

COMMISSIONERS ABSENT (EXCUSED):

Chris Smith
Charles T. McDowell

Agenda Item #1: <u>MEETING CALLED to ORDER:</u>

At 5:46 P.M., Chairman Bullard called the Special Called Meeting to order.

Agenda Item #2: <u>LEGAL - APPROVAL of RESOLUTION for PROPOSAL to USDA for USE of BUILDING:</u>

Amanda Prince, Staff Attorney, is requesting Board approval.



Resolution Granting Signatory Authority

WHEREAS, Columbus County currently leases a portion of 45 Government Complex Road to USDA to operate Columbus Soil and Water; and

WHEREAS, USDA requires proposals to renew the said lease from time to time; and

WHEREAS, the process of submitting the proposal requires an individual to be granted signatory authority and authority to negotiate the terms of the lease;

THEREFORE, THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE COUNTY OF COLUMBUS RESOLVES THAT The Board of Commissioners hereby authorizes the County Manager to sign documents required for the proposal to lease and negotiate the terms of proposal for the lease of a portion of 45 Government Complex Road to USDA on behalf of the county.

Adopted this the 11th day of July, 2022.

COLUMBUS	COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS
	Ricky Bullard, Chairman
Attested By:	
	LaTova Williams, Clerk to Board

MOTION:

Commissioner Byrd made a motion to approve the resolution, seconded by Vice Chairman McMillian. The motion unanimously passed.

Agenda Item #3: ADJOURNMENT:

At 5:48 P.M., Commissioner Watts made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Commissioner Coleman. The motion unanimously passed. These minutes were recorded and typed by LaToya Williams.

LATOYA WILLIAMS, Clerk to the Board

RICKY BULLARD, Chairman