The Honorable Board of Columbus County Commissioners met in the Columbus County Courtroom at 7:00 P.M., May 19, 1987 for a public hearing on a Secondary Road Construction Program for Fiscal Year 1987-88.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Ed Worley, Chairman

Junior Dew, Vice Chairman

Giles E. (Buddy) Byrd

James E. Hill, Jr., Attorney

Roy L. Lowe Adm./Clerk

Ida L. Smith
Deputy Clerk

ABSENT:

Lynwood Norris

Samuel G. Koonce

MEMBERS OF THE N.C. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION PRESENT:

Robert Crumpler, District Engineer

Wayne Bailey, Division Engineer

Charlie Formyduval, Maintenance Engineer

There were approximately thirty (30) County residents present.

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman.

The Chairman introduced Robert Crumpler, District Engineer with the Department of Transportation, and requested that he present the Secondary Road Construction Program for fiscal year 1987-88.

Mr. Crumpler thanked the Board for their attendance and read the proposed 1987-88 Secondary Road Construction priority listing to the public and the amount of funds that are to be expended on each State Road number. Mr. Crumpler requested the Board's consideration for adopting a Resolution, if they agreed with the proposal.

The State allocation for Columbus County for 1987-88 is tentatively set for \$835,679.00.

Chairman Worley requested that each person wishing to speak raise their hand to be recognized, state their name and road number, prior to addressing the problem.

The following roads were brought to the attention of the Department of Transportation and the Board of Commissioners by the public:

SR 1340 - Donald Mercer

SR 1514 - Pete Floyd

SR 1713 - Jehovah Smith

SR 1001, 1727 - George Freeman

SR 1727 - Thelma Harper

SR 1726 - Henry Jones

SR 1906 - Junior Dew

SR 1726 - Haynes Graham

SR 1800, 1802, 1803 - Roscoe Jacobs

SR 1800, 1802 - Ossie Jacobs

SR 1161 - Vernon Gurganus

SR 1801 - Rossie Freeman

Mr. Crumpler explained how the priority list is derived at by a point system and the road itself sets the priority under the point system.

A motion was made by Commissioner Dew, seconded by Commissioner Byrd and passed unanimously to take the 1987-88 Secondary Road Construction Program into consideration at the next regular Board of Commissioners' meeting in order to allow the decision to be made by the full Board.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:25 P.M.

APPROVED:

Administrator/Clerk

Chairman