The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 10:00 a.m., February 15, 1971, it being third Monday.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Edward W. Williamson, Chairman

- J. Roland Gore
- W. O. Johnson
- T. E. Burns
- H. J. Watts

Emogene W. Suggs, Clerk

The following business was transacted:

The minutes of the February 1, 1971, meeting were rewd and approved.

Mr. Harold Wells, member of the Columbus County Airport Authority Fund Raising Committee, came before the Board and asked the Commissioners to endorse the fund-raising for paving the county airport by making a contribution to the Fund-Raising Committee. All Commissioners pledged their support. Columbus County must furnish one-fourth of the funds for paving the airport to get state and federal aid.

Mr. Robert Clark from SENCland came to ask the Commissioners to approve an application of SENCland Community Action to the Office of Economic Opportunity for \$98,000. This money, if obtained, will be used to buy three, nine passenger vans to transport local people to places they have difficulty in getting transportation. The County is to furnish no money for this project. A motion was made by Commissioner Watts, seconded by Commissioner Johnson, and duly passed to give the Chairman authority to sign the necessary papers.

A motion was made by Commissioner Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Burns and unanimously passed recommending Sheriff Duke to swear in two Security Guards to serve at Club 74 and the Red Barn located in the Evergreen area of Columbus County. These guards are to have no authority except in the above named places. It was later brought to the attention of the Board and Mr. Duke by the County Attorney that there was no law giving authority to anyone to swear in security guards and anyone sworn in by Mr. Duke would be a deputy sheriff and would be the responsibility of the County. Upon motion by Commissioner Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Burns, and duly passed that the motion heretofore passed recommending Mr. Duke to swear in security guards be recinded.

Mr. Carl Hayes and Mr. W. D. Williams, Jr. came before the Board to present a letter asking the concurrence of the Board in hiring Mr. Shelton Hooks to replace Mr. Hayes, who was promoted to District Ranger serving White-ville District. The Commissioners were very pleased with the selection of Mr. Hooks as Columbus County Ranger and also congratulated Mr. Hayes on his promotion.

Ordered: that Mr. Junius G. Campbell be appointed to fill the vacency on the Columbus County PLanning Board. The term of Mr. L. R. Bowers: expired June 30, 1970, and he does not wish to continue serving on this Board due to other obligations. This term is for five years and will expire on June 30, 1975.

Ordered: that the poll tax listed in the name of Henry Jr., and Lucille Young, Bolton Township, be released for the years 1967 and 1968 due to Mr. Young being a nonresident of Columbus County.

Ordered: that the valuation of the property listed in the name of F. Lester Drew, Fair Bluff Township, be reduced in the amount of \$440.00 for the year 1970 due to double listing.

Ordered: that the valuation of the property listed in the name of Ernest Harold Spencer, Jr., Whiteville, Township, be reduced in the amount of \$1,290 for the year 1970 due to clerical errot.

Ordered: that the taxes listed in the name of Abe Duncan, Williams Township, be cancelled for the year 1962,1963, and 1964. Mr. Duncan is deceased and there is no property remaining.

Ordered: that the following taxes be cancelled due to double listing. These records were checked by the Tax Collector's Office.

Applewhite Brothers	Ransom Township	Years to be cancelled 1927
W. H. & T. C. Applewhite	Ransom	192 8
Frances Baldwin Heirs	Waccamaw "	1947 through 1949
Jane Baldwin	Whiteville"	19 2 7 through 1930
Bank of Whiteville	Bolton "	1934
Jane Barden	Fair Bluff"	1928 through 1931
L. C. Toon Burden	Whiteville"	19 3 8 through 1934
Elliott Barden	Whiteville "	1934
Ludie Barnhill	Chadbourn "	1962
Agnes Batten	Lees	1958
J. G. Batten	Williams "	1929 through 1931
Jesse Bell Estate	Whiteville "	1933
Mrs. N. N. Bernard	Whiteville "	1929 through 1930
Randall Bethea	Whiteville "	1927
J. L. Bibbs	Ransom "	1920, 1925, & 1927
Sarah Jane Blackwell	Cerro Gordo	1939 through 1942
Abra Blake	Ransom "	1939 and 1940
A. F. Blanks	Bogue "	1928 through 1970
Leonie Boone	Bogue "	1927
E. F. Bordeaux	Ransom	1933 through 1937
Mrs. Melissa Bordeaux	Bolton "	1955
Alene Bullard Blue	Tatum "	1945 through 1970

Taxpayer	Township	Years to cancel
John Bounds	Ransom	1930 through 1970
Lester Bracy	Ch ad bourn	150 and 1951
Lewis Bradley	Bolton	1948 through 1953
A. B. Brady & S. N. Johnson Chadbourn		1938 through 1943
Sam Bright Heirs	Whiteville	1941 through 1970
A. F. Britt	Tatum	1934
James Bromell	Bolton	1959
Dollar Brown Heirs	Chadbourn	1948 through 1970
Dollie Brown Hiers	Chadbourn	1922 through 1970
Laura K. Brown Estate	Ransom	1928 through 1934
Sam Brown Estate	Welches Creek	1937 through 1970
E. F. Bryant	$R^{\mathbf{A}}$ nsom	1934
Lula Mae Bryant	Whiteville	1939 and 1940
Marion Buck	Chadbourn	1938 through 1956
Richard C. Bullard	Bogue	1968
Lizzie Burns	Whiteville	1933
Mrs. S. J. Byrd	Ransom	1929

Mr. Fred Gardner, Field Representative, came to discuss the Retirement System of Local Gevernmental Employees of N. C. There were many interested employees present to hear the discussion and express their desire for the County Commissioners to adopt the retirement plan. There was a motion by Commissioner Burns, seconded by Commissioner Johnson and duly passed to table any decision concerning making a study to determine the cost to the county if heey wished to enroll in this retirement system.

Mr. J. L. Williams, Jail Architect, presented plans and specifications for the new jail for Columbus County. He is to send copies of these plans and specifications to this office within the week.

The following people came to discuss the problems that have arisin concerning the Child Day Care Center in Columbus County:

D. William Maultsby
Sybil S. Geary
J. Homer Thomas
Rabbi Reuben Kesner
Gordon R. Batten
W. H. Young
Mable R. Todd
B. Frank Batten

Mrs. Horace Smith
Mrs. Marion Stevens
Mrs. Blanche B. Croom
Mrs. Mildred P. Carter
Mrs. L. D. Wheeler
Mrs. Ralph Sholar
Mildred Moore

Dr. J. T. Wyche

Dr. Maultsby, Chairman of the Advisory Board, stated the trouble stemmed from the lack of communication and personality conflicts. The feeling expressed was that these people sincerely wanted the Day Care Center to be kept open and the differences between Columbus County and the Regional Mental Health Center be settled. A meeting is called at this time to meet with Dr. Nick Stratas, Deputy Commissioner of Mental Health, on Friday, February 19, 1971, with the County Commissioners to discuss the problems.

A motion was made by Commissioner Watts, seconded by Commissioner Gore and unanimously passed to appoint the following people as members of the Columbus County Airport Commission:

L. R. Bowess, Chairman Carl Meares, Sr.

Whiteville Fair Bluff

Leo Mercer Crowell Black J. M. Council Jesse Bullard

Chadbourn
Whiteville
Lake Waccamaw
Tabor City

No length of term was designated for this Commission.

ROAD PETITION: Ransom Township - This road is known as Armour Road and is No 1845. It is 2.4 miles in length and has 15 occupied homes located on it.

Mr. J. L. Blackmon, of Blackmon & Associates, Four Oaks, N. C. presented a proposal for revaluating Columbus County. The proposal was \$85,000.00.

Upon motion the meeting adjourned until February 19, 1971, at 10:00 a.m.

APPROVED:

Emogue W. Sugger

Edeward Cerableman