The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 10 a.m., April 7, 1962 in a special called meeting.

Members of the Board Present:

L. P. Ward, Chairman

W. B. Buffkin

A. O. Burns (absent)

Robert E. Sessions

Lacy R. Thompsom

Mazzalee T. Sanderford, Clerk

The following business was transacted:

F. W. Pearson, a representative of Automatic Voting Machine Division, Rockwell Manufacturing Co., Jamestown, N. Y., appeared before the board to discuss the purchase of voting machines. A motion was made by Commissioner Thompson, seconded by Commissioner Buffkin, and unanimously passed that two voting machines be purchased on a 5-year contract at a purchase price of \$1,749.00 each, f. o. b. factory. It is agreed that interest rate of 4% shall apply to this contract.

It was ordered that Chairman Ward be authorized to negotiate a contract with the above firm for the purchase of these two machines.

Ordered: that the Sheriff summon the following good and lawful men and women to serve as jurors at the following term of court:

Recorders: 4-30-62

J. W. Sarvis N. G. Callahan Robert R. Hinson L. Rossie Fowler Harvey Gearld Edgar Hinson Rossie Brown Baily Britt Alden L. Dowless George W. McCormick Shafter Brown James Olan Hobbs Archie I. Thompson Clayton Reynolds Hosea Gore Guy F. FormyDuval John Dixon Peterson Hubbard McGirt Horace Best James M. Crawford Ernest Manning W. D. Clifton Kenneth Dorward Louise Addison Ben Gilliam John Blanks Harvey Faulk Lonnie H. Dew Paul D. Carroll Arthur J. Cartrette Rossie McColskey A. T. Lewis, Jr. W. J. Pridgen

Hallsboro Box 131 Whiteville Clarendon Tabor City Chadbourn Rt. 3, Whiteville Rt. 2, Chadbourn Rt. 2, Chadbourn Hallsboro Hallsboro Clarkton Rt. 1, Hallsboro Whiteville Acme Tabor City Nakina Bolton Whiteville Walter St. Whiteville Delco Lake Waccamaw Rt. 4, Whiteville Whiteville Rt. 1, Whiteville Whiteville Rt. 2 Clarkton Nakina Hallsboro Rt. &, Whiteville Rt. 1, Tabor City Rt. 1, Chadbourn Hallsboro Whiteville

REC. Cont'd 4-30-62

William H. Harrison Siftly Benjamin Blanton Grover Norris Rt. 2, Chadbourn Lake Waccamaw Rt. 1, Nakina

Upon motion the meeting was adjourned until 10 a.m., May 7, 1962

Approved:

Mazzalu J. Sanderford

Chairman