```
June 15, 2017
```



Public Transportation Award

The Columbus County Public Transportation staff was recognized at the N.C. Transportation Association conference in Concord, receiving an award for 500,000 miles of safe driving. The group received an award last year for safety that covered a broader range, not just North Carolina. Some of the employees include, left to right, Anthony Rowell, Columbus County transportation manager; Eric Mitchell, safety supervisor; Dawn Thorgren, driver; Joy Jacobs, director of public transportation; Rodney Burkes, driver, and Wanda Gachett, dispatcher/office manager. Not pictured are drivers Michelle Baldwin, Oden Barrett, Darlene Bethea, Samantha Blackwell, Shirley Freeman, Deborah Hazel, Jazmine Lennon, Charles Parker, Tonya Parker, Jeff Powell, Michael Spearman, Janiqua Yeoman and the late Latoria Holland, who was a major part of the team that won the award.