COLUMBUS COUNTY

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

MINUTES

The Honorable Board of Columbus County Commissioners met in their said office at 112 West Smith Street, Whiteville, NC at 6:00 P.M., July 23, 2001 to resume a Board Meeting that was recessed on July 18, 2001.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Spruell R. Britt, Chairman

Sammie Jacobs, Vice Chairman

David L. Dutton, Jr.

Amon E. McKenzie

Bill Memory

Lynwood Norris

C.E. Wilson

James E. Hill, Jr., County Attorney

John E. Whitehurst Interim County Administrator

ABSENT:

Ida L. Smith Clerk to Board

ALSO PRESENT:

Debbie Long Personnel Director

BOARD MEETING RESUMED

Chairman Britt called the Board Meeting to order that was recessed on July 18, 2001. In the absence of Ida L. Smith, Clerk to the Board, John E. Whitehurst, Interim County Administrator, recorded the Minutes and they were transcribed by Ida L. Smith.

STATE FUNDING DISCUSSED

The Board discussed Legislative action regarding local optional sales tax and reimbursements. The Board directed Administration to write a letter to the Legislative Delegation, representing Columbus County, regarding their support for retaining the reimbursements either through direct payment or the one-half cent local option sales tax.

CLOSED SESSION - ADMINISTRATIVE CONFERENCE ROOM

At 6:15 P.M., a motion was made by Commissioner Memory, seconded by Commissioner McKenzie and passed unanimously to relocate the Board Meeting to the Administrative Building Conference Room, 111 Washington Street, Whiteville, NC and to enter into Closed Session in accordance with North Carolina General Statutes §143-318.11(a)(6) for the purpose of interviewing potential applicants for County Administrator.

RESUME REGULAR SESSION

At 9:15 P.M., a motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner Dutton and passed unanimously to adjourn Closed Session and resume Regular Session.

No official action was taken.

ADJOURNMENT

Immediately, thereafter, a motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner McKenzie and passed unanimously to adjourn the Board Meeting.

Ida L. Smith, Clerk to Board

APPROVED:

Spruell R. Britt, Chairman