COLUMBUS COUNTY

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

MINUTES

The Honorable Board of Columbus County Commissioners met in their said office at 112 West Smith Street, Whiteville, NC at 3:00 P.M., Tuesday, November 2, 1999 to resume a Board Meeting that was recessed at 8:55 A.M., Monday, November 1, 1999.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

C.E. Wilson, Chairman

Sammie Jacobs, Vice Chairman

Spruell Randolph Britt

A. Dial Gray, III (Arrived at 3:15 P.M.)

Amon E. McKenzie

Lynwood Norris

James E. Hill, Jr., Attorney (Arrived at 3:10 P.M.)

Dempsey B. Herring County Administrator

Ida L. Smith, Clerk to Board

Debbie Long, Personnel Technician

BOARD MEMBER ABSENT:

David L. Dutton, Jr.

LIBRARY BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ann Powell

Doris Dees

Mary Frances Alsup

Dennis Jones (Arrived at 3:10 P.M.)

CLOSED SESSION

A motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner Britt and passed unanimously to enter into closed session to discuss personnel in accordance with N.C.G.S. §143.318.11(a)(4).

RESUME REGULAR SESSION

At 3:20 P.M., a motion was made by Commissioner Britt, seconded by Commissioner McKenzie and passed unanimously to adjourn closed session and resume regular session.

LIBRARY - DIRECTOR'S POSITION OFFERED TO JAMIE S. HANSEN

A motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner McKenzie and passed unanimously to offer the Library Director's position to Jamie S. Hansen and if accepted by Ms. Hansen the salary will be negotiated with Dempsey B. Herring, County Administrator and C.E. Wilson, Commission Chairman.

Ms. Hansen advised the Board she will make a decision within the next two (2) days.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3:25 P.M., a motion was made by Commissioner Jacobs, seconded by Commissioner Norris and passed unanimously to adjourn the Board Meeting.

APPROVED:

Ida L. Smith, Clerk to Board

C.E. Wilson, Chairman