COLUMBUS COUNTY

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

MINUTES

The Honorable Board of Columbus County Commissioners met at the Sandy Plain Baptist Church Fellowship Building at 7:00 P.M., June 27, 1996, for the purpose of holding a public hearing to receive comments from the citizens concerning the expansion of the Yam City Fire Service District to include the Sandy Plain Community.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Spruell Randolph Britt, Chairman (arrived at 7:15 P.M.)

C.E. "Gene" Wilson, Vice Chairman

David L. Dutton, Jr.

Sammie Jacobs

Lynwood Norris

C.W. Williams

James E. Hill, Jr. County Attorney

Dempsey B. Herring Administrator

Ida L. Smith Clerk to the Board

ABSENT:

A. Dial Gray, III

There were approximately thirty-nine (39) residents present.

Vice Chairman Wilson called the public hearing to order and stated that the purpose of the public hearing is to consider citizens' comments in regards to the expansion of the Yam City Fire Service District to include the Sandy Plain Community.

The meeting was turned over to Al Leonard, Tabor City Town Manager, who gave a report on the construction of a sub-station that is necessary in order for the Yam City Fire Service District to expand the boundaries. Mr. Leonard also reported on the

homeowners insurance savings as a result of the expansion. The present tax rate for the existing district is \$0.10 per \$100.00 valuation.

Chairman Britt arrived at 7:15 P.M. and presided for the rest of the meeting.

The Chairman stated that each person wishing to speak to be recognized by raising their hand and stating their name.

Their were no comments...

There being no comments, the Chairman requested a vote from the persons in favor of and/or opposed to the proposed extended fire service district and the rate of \$0.10 per \$100.00 property valuation.

FOR:

29

AGAINST:

0

Chairman Britt stated that the Board will take the request for an extended Fire Service District for the Sandy Plain Community into consideration.

Chairman Britt declared the public hearing closed at 7:35 P.M.

APPROVED:

Ida/L. Smith, Clerk to Board

Struell Randolph Britt Chairman