COLUMBUS COUNTY

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

MINUTES

The Honorable Board of Columbus County Commissioners met at the Bethel United Methodist Church Fellowship Building at 7:00 P.M., June 25, 1996, for the purpose of holding a public hearing to receive comments from the citizens concerning the expansion of the Williams Township Fire Service District to include the Bethel Community.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Spruell Randolph Britt, Chairman

David L. Dutton, Jr.

A. Dial Gray, III

Lynwood Norris

C.W. Williams

James E. Hill, Jr. County Attorney

Dempsey B. Herring Administrator

Ida L. Smith Clerk to the Board

ABSENT:

Sammie Jacobs

C.E. "Gene" Wilson

There were approximately twenty (20) residents present.

Chairman Britt called the public hearing to order and stated that the purpose of the public hearing is to consider citizens' comments in regards to the expansion of the Williams Township Fire Service District to include the Bethel Community.

The meeting was turned over to Barry Housend, Fire Chief, who gave a report on the construction of a sub-station that is necessary in order for the Williams Township Fire Service District to expand the boundaries. Also a proposed budget was presented to the

public. The present tax rate for the existing district is \$0.06 per \$100.00 valuation which is needed for the expansion.

The Chairman stated that each person wishing to speak to be recognized by raising their hand and stating their name.

The following persons made comments.

Ronald Hayes

Bennie Williams

William Hannah

Milton Ward

Lacy Gore

There being no further comments, the Chairman requested a vote from the persons in favor of and/or opposed to the proposed extended fire service district and the rate of \$0.06 per \$100.00 property valuation.

FOR:

10

AGAINST:

0

Chairman Britt stated that the Board will take the request for an extended Fire Service District for the Bethel Community into consideration.

Chairman Britt declared the public hearing closed at 8:15 P.M.

APPROVED:

Ida L. Smith, Clerk to Board

Spruell Randolph Britt, Chairman