The Honorable Board of Columbus County Commissioners met with the Columbus County Board of Education at 6:00 P.M., July 7, 1992, at the East Columbus High School, Lake Waccamaw, N.C. for a tour of the new facility and continued a dinner meeting at the Waccamaw Restaurant, Lake Waccamaw, NC. The joint meeting was requested by the Columbus County Board of Education pursuant to G.S. 115C-431(a).

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ed Worley, Chairman

Junior Dew, Vice Chairman

Lynwood Norris

Samuel G. Koonce

Mike Richardson

James E. Hill, Jr., Attorney
Roy L. Lowe, Administrator
Ida L. Smith, Clerk to Board
Gayle Godwin, Finance Officer

SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:
Michael Kellihan
Raymond Shaw
Craven Sealey
Pam Ward
Jo Anne Barnes

Tommy Nance, Superintendent

Dan Strickland, Assistant Supt.

Harold "Butch" Pope, Attorney

Bobby Ezzell, Finance Officer

Gary McClelland, Asst. Finance

Fred Tedder, Dir. Plant Operations

OTHERS PRESENT:

Bob High, News Reporter

Leah Kohlenberg, Star News

David Gore

Milton Ward

Michael Kellihan, Columbus County School Board Chairman, called the meeting to order and Raymond Shaw gave the invocation.

Chairman Kellihan then turned the meeting over to Bobby Ezzell, the Finance Director, who explained the 1992-93 Columbus County Schools' Operating Budget.

Chairman Kellihan stated that additional funding is needed for energy due

to the opening of two new schools, East and South Columbus.

There was a lengthy discussion among County Commissioners and School Board Members in reference to the Schools' needs.

Chairman Worley thanked the Board of Education for the invitation to tour the East Columbus High School and encouraged the Boards to have more of these type meetings.

A motion was made by Commissioner Koonce to recess the meeting until 7:30 P.M., July 13, 1992.

Commissioner Koonce's motion died in lack of a second.

A motion was made by Commissioner Dew to meet as scheduled for a regular Board meeting.

Commissioner Dew withdrew his motion.

MEETING ADJOURNED

A motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner Richardson and passed unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 9:15 P.M.

The next regular Board Meeting is scheduled at 7:30 P.M., July 20, 1992.

APPROVED:

Chairman

Clerk to Board