The Honorable Board of Columbus County Commissioners met in the Columbus County Superior Courtroom at 7:00 P.M., May 30, 1989 for a public hearing on the Proposed Secondary Road Construction Program for Fiscal Year 1989-90.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Samuel G. Koonce, Chairman

Giles E. (Buddy) Byrd, Vice-Chairman

Junior Dew

Lynwood Norris

Ed Worley

James E. Hill, Jr. Attorney

Roy L. Lowe Administrator

Ida L. Smith Clerk to the Board

MEMBERS OF THE N.C. DEPT. OF TRANSPORTATION PRESENT:

Robert Crumpler, District Engineer

Steve Varnedoe, Division Maintenance Engineer

Charlie Formyduval, Maintenance Engineer

There were approximately sixty (60) county residents present.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Koonce and County Administrator, Roy Lowe gave the invocation.

The Chairman stated the purpose of the meeting was to hold a public hearing in reference to the 1989-90 Proposed Secondary Road Construction Program.

The Chairman introduced Robert Crumpler, District Engineer with the Department of Transportation, and requested that he present the proposed Secondary Road Construction Program for fiscal year 1989-90.

Mr. Crumpler thanked the Board for their attendance and read the proposed 1989-90 Secondary Road Construction priority listing to the public and the amount of funds that are to be expended on each State Road number. Mr. Crumpler also advised the persons in attendance as to how the road priorities were established by a point system by the N.C. Department of Transportation.

Mr. Crumpler requested the Board's consideration for adopting a Resolution, if they agreed with the proposal.

The State allocation for Columbus County for Fiscal Year 1989-90 is tentatively set for \$1,034,203.00. The expanded program, if adopted by the State, will add an additional \$908,975 funding for Columbus County, totalling \$1,943,178. Chairman Koonce then opened the floor for any questions or comments concerning the proposal. He requested that each person wishing to speak, raise their hand to be recognized, state their name and road number, prior to addressing the problem.

The following roads were brought to the attention of the Department of Transportation and the Board of Commissioners by the public:

State Road 1530 - W. L. and Angie Robinson

State Road 1111 - Lloyd Gore

State Roads 1532, 1537 - Sylvester Flowers

State Road 1838 - J. L. Woodland

State Road 1445 - Jerry Cartrette

State Road 1549 - George Marley

State Road 1548 - Ethel Godwin

State Road 1548 - V.L. Godwin

Chairman Koonce thanked the public for attending the public hearing.

A motion was made by Commissioner Dew, and seconded by Commissioner Byrd to request the N.C. Department of Transportation to consider the problems the citizens had presented, especially the ones involving road safety.

The motion and second was recinded when the Chairman announced that the Board was not in official session and could not transact business.

The Board then concurred to take the items under advisement for action by resolution on Monday, June 5, 1989, during the next regular scheduled meeting.

At 8:30 P.M., the meeting was adjourned.

APPROVED:

Ada Landa Clerk to the Board

Smeet S. Loon -

Status of Williams