The Honorable Columbus County Board of Commissioners met in their said office at 9:00 A.M., August 1, 1988, it being the first Monday.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Junior Dew, Chairman

Samuel G. Koonce, Vice-Chairman

Lynwood Norris

Ed Worley

Giles E. (Buddy) Byrd

James E. Hill, Jr. County Attorney

Roy L. Lowe Administrator/Clerk

Ida L. Smith Deputy Clerk

The Chairman called the meeting to order and the invocation was given by Reverend Wade Fowler, Senior Center Director.

MINUTES APPROVED

A motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner Koonce and passed unanimously to approve the minutes of the Board of Equalization and Review meetings dated April 26, and May 23, 1988 and the regular Board meeting minutes of July 18, 1988, as recorded.

FIRE DEPARTMENTS - ANNUAL CERTIFICATION OF FIREMEN FOR HALLSBORO AND EVERGREEN

A motion was made by Commissioner Worley, seconded by Commissioner Byrd and passed unanimously to approve the annual certification of firemen for the following volunteer fire departments:

Hallsboro, Hallsboro, NC

Evergreen, Evergreen, NC

APPOINTMENTS - SENIOR CENTER ADVISORY COUNCIL

A motion was made by Commissioner Byrd to appoint the following persons to serve on the Senior Center Advisory Council representing Zone 1.

Virginia Adams, Route 1, Box 261, Delco, NC, to replace Juanita Corbin - 3 year term.

John Campbell, Route 1, Box 715, Lake Waccamaw, NC - 3 year term

Eloise Stephens, Pecan Lane, Lake Waccamaw, NC - 3 year term

Earl Andrews, reappointed - 1 year term

T. Ben Douglas, reappointed - 1 year term

The motion died in lack of a second.

A motion was made by Commissioner Koonce, seconded by Commissioner Byrd and passed unanimously to reappoint the following persons to serve on Senior Center Advisory Council for three (3) year terms, representing Zone 3, as recommended by the Advisory Council.

George Bellamy, C.W. Williams, and Elaine Blake.

A motion was made by Commissioner Worley, seconded by Commissioner Byrd and passed unanimously to reappoint Ray Wyche to serve on the Senior Center Advisory Council for a three (3) year term representing Zone 2, as recommended by the Advisory Council.

「空間の医療性を発性・・・」第二十五級手がはた

A motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner Byrd and passed unanimously to appoint the following persons to serve on the Senior Center Advisory Council for three (3) year terms representing Zone 4, as recommended by the Advisory Council.

Paul Benton, 218 Live Oak Street, Tabor City, NC

Richard Wright, 6 Orange St., Tabor City, NC

A motion was made by Commissioner Byrd, seconded by Commissioner Koonce and passed unanimously to appoint the following persons to serve on the Senior Center Advisory Council representing Zone 1.

Virginia Adams, appointed to replace Juanita Corbin - 3 year term

John Campbell, appointed - 3 year term

Eloise Stephens, appointed - 3 year term

Earl Andrews, reappointed - 1 year term

T. Ben Douglas, reappointed - 1 year term

BUDGET AMENDMENT - RECREATION

A motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner Koonce and passed unanimously to accept Donations to Recreation (10-336) in the amount of \$190.00 to be expended in Recreation (10-620-13).

BUDGET AMENDMENT - LIBRARY

A motion was made by Commissioner Koonce, seconded by Commissioner Norris and passed unanimously to accept funds from LSCA Enrichment Grant (10-348-3100) in the amount of \$6,223.00 to be expended as follows:

10-630-3300 Books 10-630-7400 Capital Outlay \$4,853.00 1,370.00

BUDGET AMENDMENT - LIBRARY

A motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner Worley and passed unanimously to accept funds for the Library as follows:

10-335-0200 Gift from UCB & Library Friends \$3,200.00 10-335-0200 Tabor City Friends of the Library 5,400.00

To be expended as follows:

10-630-3302 Adiovisual-207 PBS Videos\$3,200.0010-630-0400 Professional Services1,100.0010-630-7400 1 Circ. 400 Terminal4,300.00

APPOINTMENT - RIEGELWOOD SANITARY DISTRICT

A motion was made by Commissioner Byrd, seconded by Commissioner Norris and passed uanimously to appoint William White to serve on the Riegelwood Sanitary District Board of Directors to replace Boyd E. Delamater who resigned.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULED

The Administrator advised the Board that a public hearing has been scheduled for 7:00 P.M., August 15, 1988, for consideration of the Waccamaw Siouan Development Association applying for a Community Development Block Grant for the Housing Demonstration Program proposed in the Buckhead and St. James communities.

MEETING RECESSED

A motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner Koonce and passed unanimously to recess the meeting at 9:20 A.M. until 7:00 P.M., August 15, 1988 at which time the Board will hold a public hearing as scheduled on a proposed Community Development Block Grant application for the Waccamaw Siouan Development Association.

* * * * * *