The Honorable Columbus County Board of Commissioners met in their said office at 7:00 P.M., June 9, 1986, for the purpose of a Budget Session.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Caletta Faulk, Chairperson

Ed Worley, Vice-Chairman

Junior Dew

Lynwood Norris

Richard B. Self, Adm./Clerk

ABSENT:

Larry M. Buffkin

James E. Hill, Jr.

There were approximately thirty (30) employees in attendance.

The meeting was called to order by the Chairperson and the invocation was given by Commissioner Worley.

The Chairperson requested that each person wishing to speak concerning the 1986-87 Proposed Budget to sign the registry and she would recognize each person accordingly.

The following persons spoke concerning their respective organizations and departments:

Walter Batten, Solid Waste

Jo Anne Vereen, Social Services

Amanda Bible, Library

David Hammond, Hospice

Robert Holbrook, M.D., Hospice

Ben Douglas, Senior Center

Robert Holbrook, M.D., Health Department

Ila Penny, Register of Deeds

Garland McCullen, Agriculture Extension Service

The Chairperson invited anyone in attendance, who had not signed the registry, to speak if they wished. Several other employees made comments requesting the Board to consider cost-of-living increases for County employees, if possible.

The Board reached a general concensus to schedule the next Budget Session at 7:00 P.M., June 17, 1986.

Upon motion by Commissioner Worley, seconded by Commissioner Dew and passed unanimously the Budget Session recessed at 8:30 P.M. until 7:00 P.M., June 17, 1986.