The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 7:30 p.m., March 4, 1981, according to adjournment.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

Edward W. Williamson, Chairman

L. A. Hinson, Vice-Chairman (Absent)

C. Waldo Marlowe

Junior W. Dew

Lynwood Norris

James E. Hill, Jr., Attorney

Emogene W. Suggs, Clerk

Other persons present at the meeting were:

County Schools: Mitchell Tyler, Edward L. Williamson, Richard Dameron, David Small, John F. Carter and Robert Ezzell.

City Schools: Dr. W. C. Burns and Robert Leavitt

Others: Wray Thompson, Deuce Nevin, Larry Buffkin and Mrs. David Small.

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman and the following business was transacted:

Mitchell Tyler, Supt., County Schools, presented a request to the Board, in writing, that was presented at the March 2nd meeting, requesting \$100,000.00 for the County Schools Unit for energy to be used for the months of April, May and June. He requested \$75,000.00 be designated for electricity and \$25,000.00 for fuel oil.

Dr. W. C. Burns, Chairman, Whiteville City Schools Unit, requested a total of \$46,000.00 for the City Schools to operate through June 30, 1981. \$41,000.00 is for electricity and \$5,000.00 for natural gas. This request was also presented to the Board on March 2nd.

A motion was made by Commissioner Dew, seconded by Commissioner Norris and approved to appropriate \$146,000.00 to the Schools Capital Outlay Fund, with \$100,000.00 being designated to the County Unit and \$46,000.00 being designated to the City Unit.

The payments are to be made in three payments on a monthly basis.

A motion was made by Commissioner Dew, seconded by Commissioner Norris and passed that the Columbus County Hospital be allowed to use the radio frequency, at night, that is used by the Health Department and Landfill during work hours. This is subject to Commissioner Marlowe consulting with the Health Department for their approval and setting the hours to be used by each agency.

A motion was made by Commissioner Norris, seconded by Commissioner Dew and passed to adopt the following resolution:

WHEREAS, the County of Columbus is now experiencing a revaluation concerning all real estate in Columbus County, North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, during the last revaluation of the County of Columbus was sued, said suit west to the Appellate Courts of North Carolina, at which time, it was decided that tobacco

allotments were to be valued and given worth in determining the valuation of the property in Columbus County and the State of North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, numerous farmers, petitioners, and citizens of Columbus County have requested that tobacco allotments not be considered, although recognizing that the County Commissioners and the present revaluation company must consider the same under the now existing State law;

BE IT, THEREFORE, RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Columbus County, North Carolina, that they do hereby go on record in support of a State statute treating tobacco allotments similar to that of standing timber, and request that the appropriate legislation be introduced by our Representatives.

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Columbus County, North Carolina, that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Honorable R. C. Soles, Jr., State Senator; the Honorable Richard Wright, Jr., State Representative; the Honorable George R. Taylor, State Representative; the Honorable Edd Nye, State Representative; the Honorable James R. Hunt, Jr., Governor; and the Honorable James Graham, Commissioner of Agriculture.

This the 4th day of March, 1981.

Board of County Commissioners
/s/ Edward W. Williamson, Chairman

Attested by;

/s/ Emogene W. Suggs, Clerk

The following resolution was passed upon motion by Commissioner Marlowe, seconded by Commissioner Norris and recommended by Jack Ervin, Executive Director, Columbus County Economic Development Commission:

WHEREAS, Southeastern Economic Development Commission of the Economic Development Administration is presently located in Elizabethtown, North Carolina, has rendered a tremendous service to Southeastern North Carolina since approximately 1969; and

WHEREAS, the Congress of the United States of America is now considering a proposal which would eliminate all economic development commissions in order to eliminate \$41,000,000.00 from the budget; and

WHEREAS, the Southeastern Economic Development Commission of the Economic Development Administration has provided in the past substantial help in attracting industry and thereby provided jobs and help for the citizens of Southeastern North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, there exists at the present time a need for the Economic Development

Administration, although the same should be reviewed in order to remain within the original intent of the law;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Columbus County, North Carolina, that they wholeheartedly endorse the Economic Development Administration of

the United States of America and requests each of our United States Senators and Congressmen to examine carefully, the elimination of the Economic Development Administration from the United States Budget, and instead, to examine the intent of the act which gave birth to the administration and to cut all programs which are not within the intent of the said Act, but to keep all programs which are within the intent of the Act, thereby saving the taxpayers tax funds and also providing many needed services.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Columbus County, North Carolina, that a copy of the foregoing resolution be forwarded to the Honorable Jesse Helms, United States Senator; the Honorable John East, United States Senator; and the Honorable Charles R. Rose, United States Congressman; and the Southeastern Economic Development Commission, Elizabethtown, North Carolina.

This the 4th day of March, 1981.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS /s/ Edward W. Williamson, Chairman

Attested by:

/s/ Emogene W. Suggs, Clerk

Emogue W. Sugg

Upon motion the meeting adjourned until March 16, 1981, at 10:00 a.m.

APPROVED:

Edewed Westline