The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 8:00 p.m., May 27, 1980, in a special called meeting to meet with officials of the Town of Chadbourn and the Chadbourn Volunteer Fire Department.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

C. Waldo Marlowe, Chairman

Junior W. Dew, Vice-Chairman

Edward W. Williamson

(Absent)

L. A. Hinson

David L. McPherson

James E. Hill, Jr., Attorney

Emogene W. Suggs, Clerk

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman and he stated the purpose of the meeting was to take steps to set up a fire district in the Chadbourn area, outside the incorporated area.

Persons present at this meeting were Otis Collins, Edwin Nance, Jerry Turner, Ed Carter and Leo Mercer.

Mayor Mercer stated that they wished to proceed with the establishment of a fire district to tax resident in the area around Chadbourn for fire protection service in the next fiscal year if possible. A map was presented to the Board of the proposed area to be served but no description or other necessary documents were presented.

A motion was made by Commissioner McPherson, seconded by Commissioner Hinson and passed to appoint Ralph Jolly to send out the necessary notice to persons living in the proposed tax area and to authorize the Chairman to sign any documents that are necessary to proceed with the paperwork.

Upon motion the meeting adjourned until June 2, 1980, at 10:00 a.m., which is regular meeting time.

APPROVED:

Emoque (Logg)

Walde Marlous Chairman