The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 7:30 p.m.,

October 3, 1979, according to adjournment.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

C. Waldo Marlowe, Chairman

Junior W. Dew, Vice-Chairman

Edward W. Williamson

L. A. Hinson

David L. McPherson

James E. Hill, Jr., Attorney

Emogene W. Suggs, Clerk

Others present at the meeting were:

Robert Clark, Director, SENCland Community Action

Paul Pope, Chairman, Interagency Council

Justin Oliver, Director, Sheltered Workshop

Jo Anne Vereen, Director, Social Services

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman and he asked that anyone who wished may be heard on the transportation program and the difficulties of the program because of the cash flow.

A copy of expenditures made by SENCland in the operation of the Title XX Transportation Program was presented to the Board by Mrs. Vereen showing the amounts paid and the amounts disallowed because of ineligible recipients using the transportation facilities. It was determined that a part of these ineligible recipients were eligible under other programs. All agencies that participated in the program were current on reimbursements except for Social Services for the month of September.

Mr. Clark gave different amounts of money that was needed to continue to operate the transportation program, ranging from \$3,000.00 to \$12,000.

The Attorney restated his opinion that the County could neither give or loan SENCland money under the conditions discussed.

A motion was made by Commissioner Williamson, seconded by Commissioner Mc.Pherson and passed to table the discussion and decision to allow the Attorney to do further research and to inquire into the obligations of the County if the Section XVIII Grant is approved and accepted by the County to operate a public transportation program.

Bobbie DeWitt notified the Board that the County had been alloted 11 additional

CETA slots (by phone). Upon motion by Commissioner Williamson, seconded by Commissioner

Hinson, the following slots were assigned to various agencies:

Two at County Landfill One at Dog Pound One each at the following schools: Edgewood in Whiteville Hallsboro High School Acme-Delco School Old Dock Elementary School Williams Township School

Hallsboro Elementary School West Columbus School Tabor City School

Each Commissioner is to contact school in his zone for type of employee.

Upon motion the meeting adjourned until October 15, 1979, at 10:00 a.m.

APPROVED:

Euroque (1/ Segg_ Clerk

Walds Marlower

Chairman