The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 5:00 p.m., Wednesday, October 5, 1977, to continue unfinished business.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

C. Waldo Marlowe, Chairman

Junior W. Dew, Vice-Chairman

Edward W. Williamson

L. A. Hinson

David L. McPherson

James E. Hill, Jr., Attorney

Emogene W. Suggs, Clerk

The meeting was reconvened after recessing on Monday due to the death of John Coleman, Sheriff of Columbus County.

The Board expressed saddness of the occassion and regret for the necessity of having to appoint a sheriff to serve the unexpired term of Mr. Coleman.

Commissioner McPherson made a motion to open the floor for nominations for Sheriff.

Commissioner Williamson nominated Charlie Clayton Norton

Commissioner Dew nominated Stuart Sasser

Nominations were then closed.

A vote was taken on the nominations and recorded as follows:

Voting YES for Norton were Commissioners Williamson and McPherson; Voting NO were Hinson and Dew

Voting YES for Sasser were Commissioners Hinson and Dew; Voting NO were Williamson and McPherson.

The Attorney was asked by the Chairman if there were any restrictions in him casting his vote as he is first cousin to Mr. Sasser. There was a recess to allow the Attorney time to research the question. He later informed the Chairman that there were no restrictions on him voting because of kinship, and, in fact, the law required him to vote.

There was a time elapse while the Chiarman considered his vote.

A motion was made by Commissioner McPherson to delete all prior nominations and reopen the floor for nominations. There was no second to this motion.

Chairman Marlowe then cast a vote of NO for both nominations Clayton Norton-and Stuart Sasser.

Commissioner McPherson requested that the letter from the Deputies of the Sheriff's Department be read. (Recorded in Minutes of October 3, 1977). The letter was read by the Chairman at this time which was an endorsement by the Department for Sasser to be appointed Sheriff.

Commissioner McPherson further requested that the floor again be open for nominations for the appointment of Sheriff.

Commissioner Williamson nominated Charlie Clayton Norton

Commissioner Dew nominated Stuart Sasser

The nominations were closed.

Commissioner McPherson then asked the Chairman if he was prepared to vote or if he planned to ask to be excused from voting because of family ties. Chairman Marlowe stated that

under the circumstances he would ask the Board to excuse him from voting. Commissioner Mc-Pherson stated he would consider his request and asked that the vote be taken immediatley.

The vote was taken and recorded as follows:

Voting YES for Norton were Commissioners Williamson, Hinson, McPherson and Marlowe

Voting NO was Commissioner Dew

Voting YES for Sasser was Commissioner Dew

Voting NO were Commissioners Williamson, Hinson, McPherson and Marlowe

After the vote was taken, Commissioner Hinson made a motion asking the Board to make the appointment of Clayton Norton as Sheriff unanimous. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Williamson and approved by all members.

Upon motion the meeting adjourned until 10:00 a.m., Monday, October 17, 1977, which is regular meeting time.

APPROVED:

Emogene W. Sirgan Clerk

Waldo Marlone Chairman