The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 7:00 p.m.,

January 4, 1977, according to adjourment.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

C. Waldo Marlowe, Chairman

Junior W. Dew, Vice-Chairman

Edward W. Williamson

L. A. Hinson

David McPherson

C. Waldo Marlowe, Acting Clerk

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman and he stated the purpose of the meeting was to meet jointly with the County Manager Study Group.

The following members of the Group were present:

Lennox Long Jesse Graham Roscoe Lennon Carl Bryant A. J. Worley Casey Williams Odum Godwin William Chestnutt James L. Collier William Prease

Eston Blackmon Royce Johnson R. H. Jordan Eloise Byrd Eugene Nance LeRoy Thompson Harold Hinson Beatrice Smith Paul Woodall

ABSENT: Clara M. Duncan

There was an open discussion between the Board and the Study Group to clarify the purpose of the study. The Board instructed the Group that they were selected to make a study of the feasibility of a county manager system for Columbus County with no input from the Board of Commissioners, and to report back to the Board within 90 days on their findings with a recommendation as to whether the County should implement the manager system.

The Board excused themselves from the meeting for the Group to organize and make plans to proceed with their assignment.

> The following persons were elected as officers: Chiarman Eloise Byrd, Lake Waccamaw Vice-Chairman LeRoy Thompson, Chadbourn Secretary Beatrice Smith, Whiteville

The joint meeting was recessed by the Board until 4:00 p.m., January 5, 1977, to meet jointly with the Columbus County Board of Education in the Conference Room in the Administrative Building of the Board of Education.

471-

APPROVED:

Chairman and Acting