The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office on November 17, 1969, at 10:00 A.M., it being third Monday.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

H. J. Watts, Chairman

T. E. Burns

W. O. Johnson

J. Roland Gore

Edward W. Williamson

Betty S. Williamson, Clerk

The following business was transacted:

The minutes of the November 3rd and November 7th meetings were read and approved.

Ordered: that a check in the amount of \$25.00 be written to Newmetal Smith, Rt. 1, Nakina, N.C., from the Out Door Poor Fund for immediate relief.

Upon motion of Commissioner Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Williamson and unanimously adopted that Mr. Dennis Williams be allowed to remain in the jailer living quarters of the Columbus County Jail until he can complete a new home and move from the county jail providing that he shall move from said living quarters not later than March 1, 1970; providing further that until such time as he vacates said premises, he shall pay for all oil, water, electricity, gas, telephone and other utilities and the county shall bear no expenses in connection with his residence.

Ordered: that the letter from Bladen County be approved and that the chairman be authorized to sign and return copies to the Bladen County Auditor stating Columbus County will pay the sum of \$5.00 per day per prisoner for such time as prisoners might be incarcerated, beginning November 15, 1969, with settlement to be made by the Board of Commissioners of Columbus County at the expiration of each thirty day period, until further notice.

Ordered: that a letter be written to the City Council of the Town of Whiteville requesting that the property leased by the county located at 306 Washington Street, Whiteville, N.C., be rezoned for commercial use.

Ordered: that an assistant to the custodian be hired at a rate of \$300 per month for janitorial services rendered in the county buildings.

As requested, the following County Electrical Inspectors appeared before the Board to discuss electrical inspections on mobile homes located within the county:

Mr. L. V. Holt

Mr. J. W. Bullock

Mr. John Anderson

Mr. W. M. McArthur

After a lengthy discussion, the electrical inspectors were requested to send a copy of each inspection made on mobile homes and on value all new construction where there is any property/change, to the office of the Tax Supervisor. This procedure will enable the county to keep and up-to-date record for tax purposes.

Ordered: that Mr. Leo Mercer be appointed to serve on the Board of Directors of the Southeastern Economic Development Commission. Mr. Mercer replaces Mr. Hugh Williams.

Mr. Alton Edwards and Mr. Sam Hunt, members of the Riegelwood Volunteer Fire Department came before the Board to discuss the problem of financing a rural volunteer fire department and also to request assistance from the county in the amount of \$750. Operational expenses now total approximately \$3500 per year with two-thirds of this amount being raised through donations and club activities. The Board stated they would consider this request after they had heard from the various other organizations.

Members of the Board of Directors of the Columbus County Agri-Business Organization appeared before the Board with Mr. Billy Hooks as spokesman for the group to discuss the proposed Agri-Business Center. Noting there are several problems delaying the construction of this center, it was decided that a joint meeting would be held on November 24, 1969, at 7:30 P.M., at the Columbus County Courthouse in the District Courtroom with the Board of County Commissioners, Agri-Business Board of Directors, and the Economic Development Commission Board.

The following tax releases were based on recommendations from the Tax Supervisor's office:

Ordered: that the poll tax listed in the name of Julius Wendell Freeman, Bolton Township, be released for the year 1969. Mr. Freeman is a nonresident.

Ordered: that the taxes listed in the name of Nell Elizabeth

Stephens, Bogue Township, be cancelled for the year 1968. Miss Stephens listed and paid taxes on this automobile in Florida.

Ordered: that the following general county bills be allowed

and paid:

Maud Wyche	-Judge of Election	(8065)	\$	15.00
Kathleen Pate	-Judge of Election	(300)	•	15.00
Lillian C. Squires	-Judge of Election			15.00
Louise H. Farmer	-Judge of Election			15.00
Edward Gore	-Judge of Election			15.00
D. E. Stanley	-Judge of Election			15.00
Mrs. Eddie Long	-Rent for Election Day			5.00
Clyde B. Gore	-Judge of Election			15.00
Marvin Tyner	-Judge of Election			15.00
Guy Walden Buck	-Janitor Service			5.00
Howard Gore	-Judge of Election			15.00
Almond Simmons	-Judge of Election			15.00
Elizabeth P. Williams on	-Judge of Election			15.00
Edwin M. Green	-Judge of Election			15.00
Tucker Ward	-Judge of Election			15.00
Nellie Miller	-Judge of Election			15.00
Clifton Worl ey	-Judge of Election			15.00
Roanoke Strickland	-Judge of Election			15.00
Community Building	-Rent of Building			5.00
Nellie Parrish	-Judge of Election			15.00
Duval Suggs	-Judge of Election			-
Maybelle Surles	-Judge of Election			15.00
Tom Sarvis	-Judge of Election			15.00 15.00
W. H. Sasser	-Judge of Election			-
Alton Soles		(8089)		15.00
Percy C. Gore	-Judge of Election	(0009)		15.00
Jettie M. Babson	-Judge of Election			15.00
Mrs. W. J. Simmons	-Rent of Building (Two elect:	ione)		15.00
Ray Ward	-Judge of Election	LOIIS)		10.00 15.00
Mrs. Hoover Ray	-Judge of Election			-
L. C. Ward, Sr.	-Rent of Building			15.00
Ruth Lennon	-Judge of Election			5.00
R. C. Bordeaux	-Judge of Election			15.00
J. O. Williamson, Jr.	-Judge of Election			15.00 15.00
Walter Shaw	-Judge of Election			15.00
S. A. Duncan	-Judge of Election			15.00
Angelo Pierce	-Judge of Election			-
Currie D. Wooten	-Judge of Election			15.00
Harry L. Jordan	-Judge of Election			15.00 15.00
Miles Williams	-Judge of Election			15.00
Doras Leonard	-	(8105)		
Dow Hinson	-Judge of Election	(0103)		15.00 15.00
Vera M. Hinson	-Judge of Election			
Worth E. Stanley	-Electrical Bill			15.00 5.00
Avery Piver	-Judge of Election			15.00
Wayland Norris	-Judge of Election			15.00
Thetus Hughes	-Judge of Election			15.00
Sarah Layman	-Judge of Election			15.00
Barbara M. Whitson	-Judge of Election			15.00
Frances P. Hooks	=Judge of Election			15.00
Ann Warren	-Judge of Election			
J. R. Bennett	-Judge of Election			15.00 15.00
Pauline D. Best	-Judge of Election			_
Magie Lenora Ellis	-Judge of Election			15.00
Clarence Eugene Thompson		(8119)		15.00
Charles Gideon Tedder	-Judge of Election	OTTY	•	15000
J. F. Callihan	-Judge of Election			15.00
Delmas Hooks	-Judge of Election			15.00
North Whiteville Community				15.00 10.00
	101 010010H			10.00

		(()		
Emily M. Peal	-Asstg. in Election	(1756)		12.80
S. T. Enzor	-Board Meeting			23.04
P. K. Avant	-Delivering Books			90.58
Mary T. Honeycutt	-Asstg. Board of Elect:	ions		35 . 70
Eloise Byrd	-Registrar			L7.76
N. H. Reaves	-Registrar			L9.20
Melvin Long	-Registrar			20.00
Dorothy Suggs	-Registrar			19.68
Wilbur Ray Chestnut	-Registrar		12	20.16
Hilda B. Nance	-Registrar		13	19.04
Sarah H. Heye	-Registrar		12	28.31
Annie Hayes	-Registrar		13	19.52
Roscoe Enzor	-Registrar			19.04
Alma Ward	-Registrar	(1771)	13	18.08
Retha Lillian Sasser	-Registrar		11	L7.44
Allie Simmons	-Registrar	•	13	L8.88
Doris Butler	-Registrar		13	L9.20
L. V. Connor, Jr.	-Registrar		12	20.96
Beth Johnson	-Registrar		13	L7.44
Miriam W. Green	-Registrar			23.56
W. A. Bladwin	-Registrar		1:	23.51
Paul Stephens	-Registrar		12	23.56
Mrs. E. W. Stanley	-Registrar		13	18.56
Sylvia Adams	-Registrar		13	19.36
J. L. Stanley	-Registrar		1	17.92
Edna E. Ripple	-Registrar		1:	16.16
Doris Lennon	-Registrar		1:	16.16
Harry Lee Simmons	-Registrar	(1785)		38.08
Annie Smith Baldwin	-Registrar			78.94
E. L. White, Jr.	-Registrar		1.	16.96
Joe P. White	-Registrar	(1788)	13	L7.44

Upon motion the meeting adjourned until December 1, 1969 at

10:00 A.M.

APPROVED:

Delly D. Williamson

Chairman