The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 10 a.m. August 21, 1967 it being third Monday.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

W. O. Johnson, Chairman

J. Roland Gore

H. J. Watts

T. E. Burns

Edward W. Williamson

Betty S. Williamson, Clerk

The following business was transacted:

Ordered: that the County Attorney be authorized to write Mr. Carl W. Meares, State Highway Commissioner, and request that appropriate traffic signals be installed or other measures taken in order to promote safety and the flow of traffic at the various intersections surrounding the Columbus County Courthouse.

It is recommended that the County Attorney call to the attention of Commissioner Meares that personal injury and property damage has occurred recently because of the congested traffic conditions and to express the concern of this Board regarding same.

Following a general discussion, September 10, 1967 was date set for Open House of the renovated Columbus County Courthouse.

Ordered: that the chairman and clerk be authorized to sign Bond, Interest, and Redemption voucher in the amount of \$10,593.92 to pay the following debt service due September 1, 1967:

					interest
75,000	3-1-66	Community	College	6%	\$2,250.00
30,000	3-1-66	11	11	3.90%	585.00
115,000	3-1-66	*1	11	4%	2,300.00
265,000	3-1-66	11	11	4.10%	5,432.50
				/	\$10,567.50
				Exchange	26.42
				Total	\$10,593.92

"Ordered: that taxes listed in the name of Lawrence W. Rieger, Whiteville
Township, be cancelled for the year 1967 due to double listing." (Receipt #2786 - listed and paid in Chadbourn Township.)

"Ordered: that poll tax listed in the name of Harvey Faulk, Lees Township, be cancelled for the year 1967 due to double listing. Mr. Faulk listed and paid poll tax in Bug Hill Township."

"Ordered: that the late listing penalty charged in the name Ann Danridge and Paul Jones, Bogue Township, be released for the year 1967 due to listing on receipt in error. This property was listed January 7, 1967."

"Ordered: that the real estate valuation listed in the name H. Odell Peterson, Ransom Township, be reduced in the amount of \$4,330.00 for the year 1967 due to a clerical error."

"Ordered: that poll tax listed in the name Corbett Ward, Lees Township, be released for the year 1967 due to double listing. Mr. Ward paid poll tax in Whiteville Township."

Ordered: that the sheriff summon the following good and lawful men and women to serve as jurors at the following terms of court:

## CIVIL COURT: 9-25-67

Harvey Buck Lizzie Wright N. A. Fipps Leroy Mitchell Howard Prevatte E. S. Thornton Garland Cox Marvin Beatty, Sr. W. A. Baldwin Charlie Crawford Eugene Davis D. Wallace Soles Reece Burroughs Cecil Green Charlie D. Ripple Floyd Norris Clempson Green Frank B. Smith A. H. High Thomas Reynolds D. Gordon Bollinger E. W. Gore Billy S. Spivey J. A. Johnson Elmer R. Shipman Bobby Eugene Wilkins Yates Malpass John W. Campbell Monroe Enzor, Jr. Billy J. Hammond George Burris Kelly Manley Soles, Jr. Wiley Jones Grady Thompson Willard C. Wright Kenneth M. Sasser

Rt. 3, Tabor City, N. C. Hallsboro, N. C. Rt. 3, Box 308, Tabor City, N. C. Hallsboro, N. C. Rt. 1, Evergreen, N. C. Box 111, Wananish, N. C. Rt. 3, Tabor City, N. C. Bolton, N. C. Rt. 2, Clarkton, N. C. Hallsboro, N. C. Rt. 2, Chadbourn, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Cerro Gordo, N. C. Whiteville, N . C. Rt. 3, Tabor City, N. C. Rt. 2, Chadbourn, N. C. Rt. 1, Box 90, Nakina, N. C. Rt. 2, Whiteville, N. C. Rt. 3, Whiteville, N. C. Riegelwood, N. C. 104 Woodrow St., Tabor City, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Clarendon, N. C. Rt. 2, Whiteville, N. C. Box 101, Tabor City, N. C. Delco, N. C. Hallsboro, N. C. Cerro Gordo, N. C. Cérro Gordo, N. C. Rt. 1, Bolton, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Rt. 2, Whiteville, N. C. Cerro Gordo, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Hallsboro, N. C.

## CIVIL COURT: 10-2-67

John Rogers Ferguson, Jr. David Kelly Henry Wooten Richard Russell Jimmie Ray Batten William Bruce Joe Hardee Paul U. Gore W. D. Mckeithan Arthur F. Eason Paul Spivey W. W. Freedman Myrtle Boswell John Wesley Wilson Terry Shaw Abie Lincoln Stanley, Jr. Matthew Hamer Ernest Spaulding Carlie Simmons Ralph Luther Ellis, Jr. W. H. Shelley, Jr. R. C. Hinson Sylvester Jones C. M. Fowler C. L. Tuton Mrs. Ernest H. Cox John A. Thompson Robert Long Daniel Franklin Lane R. C. Fowler Bardin Worley W. E. Etheridge A. G. Smith Paul Robinson Edison Julius Elkins

Jack E. Burchette

Box 61, Wananish, N. C. 206 Orange St., Tabor City, N. C. Rt. 2, Box 65, Clarkton, N. C. Box 28, Wananish, N. C. Rt. 2, Whiteville, N. C. C/o Whiteville Gas Co., Whiteville, N. C. Rt. 3, Whiteville, N. C. Rt. 3, Tabor City, N. C. Hallsboro, N. C. Rt. 2, Whiteville, N. C. Chadbourn, N. C. Rt. 2, Clarkton, N. C. Bolton, N. C. Bolton, N. C. Evergreen, N. C. Lake Waccamaw, N. C. Fair Bluff, N. C. Rt. 2, Clarkton, N. C. Rt. 2, Whiteville, N. C. Lake Waccamaw, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Whiteville, N. C. Rt. 2, Whiteville, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Chadbourn, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Box 326, Bolton, N. C. Rt. 3, Box 170, Tabor City, N. C. Rt. 3, Tabor City, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Cerro Gordo, N. C. Wananish, N. C. Rt. 1, Nakina, N. C. Rt. 1, Box 136A, Bolton, N. C. Rt. 2, Whiteville, N. C. Hallsboro, N. C.

Upon motion the meeting adjourned until September 5, 1967 at 10 a.m.

APPROVED:

Betty S. Williamon

Chairman/