The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 7 p.m., February 15, 1965 in a special called meeting.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT:

H. J. Watts, Chairman

J. Roland Gore

W. O. Johnson, Vice Chairman

Luther C. Rich

Lacy R. Thompson

Mazzalee T. Sanderford, Clerk

The following business was transacted:

A motion was made, duly seconded, and unanimously passed to retain Sankey W. Robinson as county attorney.

Chairman H. J. Watts was called knome due to his wife's illness and Commissioner W. O. Johnson, vice-chairman, presided for the remainder of the meeting in his absence.

Ordered: that the action taken terminating the Columbus County Civil Defense Program as of March 1, 1965 be rescinded and that the County Civil Defense Program be continued.

Ordered: that all county employees working on a daily basis be paid a salary of \$225.00 per month effective February 1, 1965.

Ordered: that J. Hubert Norris be employed as chief clerk to Mrs. Venie H. Rouse, Assistant Tax Supervisor, effective February 22, 1965 at a salary of \$250.00 per month.

Ordered: that Mrs. Woodrow (Doris) Ward of Evergreen be employed as an assistant in the office of the tax collector effective February 22, 1965 at a salary of \$225.00 per month.

Ordered: that the order to terminate the services of Civil Defense Director L. R. Wayne as of March 1, 1965 be rescinded, and that he continue as Civil Defense Director of Columbus County under the direction of the County Board of Commissioners.

Ordered: that the county attorney be authorized and instructed to proceed with the sale of \$500,000 bonds for the community college.

Ordered: that the Southeastern Community College be authorized to amend its

budget to transfer certain current expense funds to capital outlay within their overall budget.

The following resolution was unanimously adopted:

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of County Commissioners, realizing the competent

work being done by the county employees, wishes to give them a vote of confidence and to assure them job security.

Ordered: that Mrs. Lolly G. Johnson be authorized to sign checks on the undistributed

tax account and the Riegelwood Sanitary District during the illness and absence of W. A. Weir,

Tax Collector.

370

Ordered: that the following action committee and Board of Directors for Columbus County Community Progress, Inc. be appointed:

Community Action Committee

Jesse C. Fisher, Jr. C.W. Duggins T. Ward Guy Dr. J. R. Black Mrs. Alice Wright Mrs. R. N. McCray Clyde Wayne James C. High Billy Hooks Bobby Jordan C. Bion Sears Miss Mary Floyd R. Grayer Powell John M. Spaulding Mrs. Frances Eanes C. C. Edwards E. L. White, Jr. Mrs. Leslie Rowe Lee J. Greer George Gold W. Norman Peal Edward Williamson Charles Raper_ Miss Dorothy Valentine Mrs. Elaine Blake Mrs. Joe E. Ward Rev. Leo Hawkins Thomas C. Barrett Mrs. Horace Whitley Legrande Summersett Mrs. Eugenia Blake Mrs. Rachel Woodard Jerry T. Murray B. T. Elliott Rev. Nelson Hodgkins = Bob High Robert Aranow Tom Faulk James Rodenborn Mrs. Walter Shaw Mrs. Homer Adams Mrs. Frank Williamson

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Jesse C. Fisher, Jr. C. L. Tate H. J. Watts Clyde Wayne Billy Hooks C. Bion Sears Arthur W. Williamson Carl Meares Robert Arranow H. G. Dameron Edward L. Williamson S. G. Koonce R. Grayer Powell Horace Whitley L. P. Ward, Jr. J. M. Council, Jr. John Spaulding R. C. Soles, Jr. J. Herman Leder Mrs. J. K. Powell (m.) James C. High Mrs. R. N. McCray Mrs. Howard Singletary Mrs. Graham Walton Horace Carter

Whiteville Whiteville Whiteville Whiteville Tabor City Lake Waccamaw Brunswick Whiteville Rt., Whiteville Rt. 2, Clarkton Whiteville Whiteville Whiteville Whiteville Whiteville c/o County Health Dept., Whiteville Rt. 4, Whiteville Whiteville Whiteville Whiteville Chadbourn Whiteville Whiteville Whiteville Chadbourn Whiteville Chadbourn Whiteville Whiteville Artesia High School, Hallsboro Whiteville County School Supervisor Whiteville Whiteville (FHA Supervisor) Mt. Olive School Whiteville Whiteville Riegelwood Whiteville Lake Waccamaw Evergreen Rt., Tabor City Nakina

Whiteville Chadbourn Rt., Whiteville Brunswick Rt., Whiteville Whiteville Chadbourn Fair Bluff Riegelwood Tabor City Whiteville

Chadbourn Whiteville Whiteville Clarendon Lake Waccamaw Whiteville Tabor City Whiteville Whiteville Lake Waccamaw Whiteville Whiteville Tabor City Upon Motion the meeting adjourned until 10 a.m., March 1, 1965.

APPROVED:

Clerk) Dankerfor

10

0 Vice Chairman

