The Honorable Board of County Commissioners met in their said office at 7 p.m., January 13, 1965 in a special called meeting.

> MEMBERS OF THE BOARD PRESENT: H. J. Watts, Chairman J. Roland Gore W. O. Johnson Luther C. Rich Lacy R. Thompson

Mazzalee T. Sanderford, Clerk

The following business was transacted:

E. L. Green, District Engineer of the N. C. Highway Commission, was present to review and familiarize the Board with the State Highway Commission's Secondary Road Program for the fiscal year 1964-1965.

Ordered: that land be made available to the State Highway Patrol from countyowned property on Highway 74-76 for the construction of office barracks and a driver license section.

Ordered: that the State Highway Patrol be assigned rooms one, two, three, and four (1, 2, 3, 4) in the West Wing of the old County Home Building. It is further ordered that Richard Stone of the State Department of Internal Revenue be assigned rooms twelve and thirteen (12, 13) in said building.

Ordered: that \$25.00 be appropriated for the erection of a trash bin for the County Jail and the Courthouse Annex II, said bin to be located behind the County Jail.

Ordered: that the civil defense budget be amended in the amount of \$5,606.86 and that the county auditor be authorized to pay said amount for communications equipment purchased by the County Civil Defense Director.

Ordered: that Dr. Joseph Wyche be appointed to the Advisory Board of the Mental Health Association replacing Dr. W. E. Baldwin, Jr. whose resignation was accepted with regrets, and that the Clerk to the Board be instructed to write a letter of appreciation to Dr. Baldwin for his services during the past year.

360

The following members were named to the Industrial Development Advisory Committee:

R. H. Aranow Thomas H. Wright T. M. Brown W. L. Hobbs James B. Lattay Royce Johnson

Herman Page Julius Elkins Walter Shaw Bobby Sanderson Ray Martin Bobby Jordan Riegelwood, N.C. Acme, N. C. Bolton, N. C. Delco, N. C. Lake Waccamaw, N. C. Delco, N. C.

Rt. 2, Clarkton, N. C. Rt. 2, Whiteville, N. C. Evergreen, N. C. Evergreen, N. C. Chadbourn, N. C. Rt. 2, Clarkton, N. C. Members named to the Industrial Development Advisory Committee - Cont'd:

W. D. Little Carl Meares C. E. Williamson, Jr. W. Norman Peal W. E. Bailey, Jr. Evander C. Arnette

Walter H. Paramore Ralph Jolly Everett Miller Norman W. Gore Miles Williams Bernice Gerald

C. Bion Sears Horace Whitley L. R. Bowers Ben Wyche Marion Inman Herman Williams Fair Bluff, N. C. Fair Bluff, N. C. Cerro Gordo, N. C. Chadbourn, N. C. Chadbourn, N. C. Rt. 2, Chadbourn, N. C.

Box 624, Tabor City, N. C. Tabor City, N. C. Rt. 3, Tabor City, N. C. Rt. 3, Tabor City, N. C. Clarendon, N. C. Tabor City, N. C.

Whiteville, N. C. Whiteville, N. C. Whiteville, N. C. Hallsboro, N. C. Whiteville, N. C. Whiteville, N. C.

The Clerk was instructed to notify above named members of their appointment, and the county attorney was authorized to call an organizational meeting of said committee.

ROAD PETITION:

1. Tatum Township: Road SR-1526 known as the "Nance Road", is 1 mile in length and there are 15 occupied homes on it.

Upon motion the meeting adjourned until 10 a.m., February 1, 1965.

J. Sande Clerk

APPROVED:

TA/ The

38

